Perth County runners qualify for OFSAA cross-country championships

Share Adjust Comment Print

Several Perth County runners are headed to the provincial cross-country championships next week in Sudbury.

Laine Young, Zach McPhee, Zach Van Straaten and Rianna Forthuber will represent the St. Mike’s Warriors Nov. 2.

Young continued her breakout season by winning the junior girls division at WOSSAA Wednesday at Fanshawe Golf Course. Young placed 51st at WOSSAA last year and has become one of the top runners in her category after racking up the kilometres over the summer and fall. She also won the junior girls division at the Huron-Perth championships last week.

St. Mike’s Laine Young finished first in the junior girls division at the WOSSAA cross-country championships and advance to OFSAA Nov. 2 in Sudbury. Mark Dewan photo

McPhee advanced to OFSAA after a second-place finish in the senior boys’ division at WOSSAA. He previously placed first in the same division at Huron-Perth.

Forthuber placed seventh in novice girls at WOSSAA and advanced to OFSAA, and Van Straaten was 11th among novice boys at WOSSAA and grabbed the final spot for provincials.

St. Marys DCVI will send Ethan Aarts and Ezra Bender as individuals, plus its senior girls’ team of Hazel Taylor, Kennedy Finch, Lydia Taylor and Jelena Lorentz.

St. Mike’s Zach McPhee was second, and St. Marys DCVI’s Ethan Aarts placed fourth as both advanced to OFSAA in the senior boys’ division. Mark Dewan photo

Aarts finished fourth in the senior boys’ division at WOSSAA after coming in second at the Huron-Perth meet.

Bender was also fourth in the novice boys’ division having earned silver at HP.

The Salukis’ senior girls’ foursome was second in the team category with 75 points – eight fewer than St. Thomas Aquinas.

Hazel Taylor led the way with an eighth-place finish, followed by Finch (17th), Lydia Taylor (21st) and Lorentz (29th).

Listowel Lightning athletes Bryan Darou (fifth in novice boys) and Tyler Hinsperger (seventh in junior boys) are also headed to OFSAA.

The top two teams and top five individuals not on a team qualified for provincials.